Heir of the Covenant
 

The last couple of days have been amazing.  Why have they been amazing?  Because I feel like God really opened my eyes to see some things in my life that need to change, and how to fix them.  As you can tell from reading my other posts, I struggle with pride and self-centeredness.  I have realized this for a while, but God was finally able to help me see some of the things that I can do about it.  A specific area of pride that I struggle with is the area of pride vs. other people.  I tend to always view myself as better than others and more significant and things like that.  I truly do care for people, but I still have the mindset that I'm better in basically every area.  Yeah, I know, I'm pretty ignorant aren't I? :-) 
      I had a talk with my dad a couple of days ago and he and God really helped me to see this problem in my life.  I saw that I treated others as less significant than myself (in my thoughts, but also in some of my actions).  It's one thing to recognize it, but it's another thing to do something about it.  I'm all about truth telling and seeing things for the way they truly are, so I always struggled with asking God to help me view others as better than myself (since I didn't see them as better).  Do you see what I'm getting at?  My own desire to be honest fueled my pride. 
      Well, after my talk with my dad I prayed and felt like God was really going to help me, though I still didn't quite understand everything.  He opened my eyes even more the next morning when I semi-randomly decided to read Philippians 2 for devotions (instead of reading in Psalms as I have been doing for the past couple months).  Philippians 2:1-4 states, "If you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any fellowship with the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and purpose. Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others." 
     Wow, that is just what I needed.  Something straight out of Scripture to confirm my struggle.  I now knew how to combat my pride toward other people.  I must view them as better than myself and serve them.  Perhaps they aren't actually better than myself, but in humility I need to view them that other, otherwise, how can I serve them?  Paul goes on to talk about how Christ took on the nature of a servant for us.  If Christ, who is God and the Lord of the Universe, would come to earth and humble Himself, not considering Himself equal to God, and become a servant, then who am I to consider myself better?
    So, I hope that if you are struggling with the same thing, that this can help.  This is very comforting to see that God sees our struggles and slowly but surely will help us through them.  First, He may reveal part of the problem and then over time will reveal our sin to us more and more.  He will always be there to provide assistance as we try to fight back our sin nature and more and more be conformed to Christ's image.  We aren't alone, God will always be there to help us through our problems.           

Naomi
1/19/2009 09:23:10 pm

I always think of things I need to work on (selflessness, purity, etc.), but I always try to work it out on my own. I am slowly realizing that if I just focus on loving God and obeying Him, then those other things will com naturally. I am slowly making progress in this area.

Reply
Tiffany Massey
1/23/2009 05:43:28 am

Hey Nathan!
Wow-this was wonderful for me to read today. I struggle with this myself (self-righteousness, pride etc.). It's something God has to bring to the surface before it can be completely removed. I'll be praying for you! =)
P.S. I love the new layout! :)
Tiffany

Reply



Leave a Reply.