Heir of the Covenant
 
I struggle with sin.  There are some sins that are especially hard for me to fight.  As with all sin, it's pleasing to the eye.  My flesh, my eyes, my pride wants it.  It thinks that it is good and  that I can't live without it.  Part of me wants to sin, but the other part wants to obey.  I'm caught in between this spiritual struggle.  Do you know what I mean?
   Unfortunately, many times I toe the line between sinning and obedience.  I think about sinning.  I imagine what I would do.  Or I fail to keep my mind off of it.  I have a desire to obey God but I also have a desire to sin.  So what do I do this happens?  Most of the time, I try to keep my mind off of it.  However, trying to keep your mind off of sin is like saying, "Don't think about a pink elephant."  Most of the time you'll think about it.  I think we all struggle with this from time to time.
   So here's the thing.  A great way to help you resist temptation to sin is to go to someone (your mom, dad, sibling, or good friend) and tell them that you're struggling with it and ask them to pray for you.  That can be hard.  It's embarrassing to tell someone that you're struggling with sin.  But it's so important.  If you really take obedience seriously, you'll see that it's more important to embarrass yourself in order to obey God.  What is more important, other people thinking that you're perfect, or God being glorified?  Does that make sense?  It can be so hard, but it can be so good to ask for prayer.  Perhaps they'll pray with you on the spot.  Whatever the case, I encourage you to include others in your walk with God.  Sometimes it can be so hard to fight sin on your own.  When it is, ask someone to pray with you and hold you accountable.  It's well worth it.
Ashley Jones
7/27/2010 05:15:50 am

Hey thanks for sending me to your blog. Ill say, you are extremely gifted in sharing your thoughts. you're perfectly clear. Praise the Lord! I hope you continue to use that gift to bless other people. :)

Thanks for the encouragement. I am struggling with the same sort of thing. I know I need to talk to someone but my stubborn pride is in the way and I still haven't after way too long. I kind pushed the idea away some time ago, but now I'm reconsidering it.

Reply
nathan johnson
7/27/2010 09:40:23 am

Thanks for visiting my blog, Ashley! I'm glad the post helped. It can be a hard thing to know when to go to someone for help with a sin problem, but sometimes it can be an important part in our fight against sin. Gal. 6:2 "Bear one another's burdens and thus fulfill the law of Christ." Sometimes it can be good to allow others to help bear our sin burden...if that makes sense. I hope God gives you wisdom!

Reply



Leave a Reply.