Heir of the Covenant
 

Here, let me share a story.  A man in our church, who now is working for Summit Ministries in Colorado shared this story.  He said that when he was in his teens he was a really rebellious person (and I don't think he was saved either)...well, he and a friend had to visit this elderly woman for school or something, and so they talked for a while and left...I don't know many of the details, but here is the gist.  So, as he grew older God got a hold of His life, and really set him straight.  He got saved, and one day (when he was a senior, I think) he went back and visited the lady.  She saw him and said, "I prayed for you this morning."  It had been several years since she had seen him, but ever since she met him, she had been praying for him every day.  I firmly believe that God blessed those prayers, drawing the once rebellious teenager to Himself. 
  What a story.  As a teenager, I've seen the development that God has done in my life, getting me to think outside myself, to pray for other people.  Most of the teenage Christians I know, seem like they have some desire to help their friends.  Well, there is no better help than to pray.  No one really knows what prayer does, but we do know that God honors the prayers of the righteous.  I know that God is the one who has the power to sanctify, to save, and to truly change someone.  Praying for other people is so important.  Sometimes is takes months, years, or never for a prayer to be answered, but be assured that God was using that prayer for the best, whether for your benefit or someone else. 
   Any cool ways God has answered your prayers for someone else?

stephanie
1/14/2009 12:14:59 am

I agree 100% Prayer is a very important part of the Christian life and it can have some awesome affects in people's lives!
About five or six months ago, God put it on my heart to pray fervently for my sister (my older sister, not Melody)And so everytime I saw her or thought about her and whenever I was taking time to pray in general I would ask God to change her heart and draw her nearer to Him.
Well about a month or so after I started praying there were no dramatic changes but she was starting to allow me and melly to be more a part of her life. We would go hang out with her in the evenings and talk about...just stuff! Well since then I have seen many more changes in her lifestyle and I suspect in her heart! She has just been accepted into an anatomy class at her college (she wants to be a nurse), and she has broken-up with her boyfriend (who I had suspected of having a very detrimental affect on her relationship with God).
There are a lot of other areas in her life that need to be changed and healed but I'm convinced already that God truly does hear our prayers! And though it might not make much sense that He (being a sovereign God) would need them, it seems it's extremely important for us to be a part of bringing the Kingdom of God to the lives of people around us! It's an act of love, and God is all about love!
Well that's my story!

Reply



Leave a Reply.