Heir of the Covenant
 
Wow, guys.  Can you believe it?  My high school life is over as of 10 am.  In a few hours I will be a student at Bryan College and my life as a child is over.  I will no longer be dependent upon my parents for food and shelter.  I will no longer be in high school.  I will no longer be home schooled.  It's weird to think about.  I don't know if it's sunk in yet.  For the past four years life has followed a certain pattern--a pattern that will no longer be.  I've made good friends and really become a part of the community that I was in.  No more co-ops.  No more youth group.  No more spontaneous frisbee games.  No more movie nights with the gang or game nights.  I'm moving three minutes down the road, but many things are changing.  Thankfully, I can still maintain a level of friendship with those still in Dayton, but I'll be living in a completely different community. Things are about to change.
   It was a good four years. I've loved my time at home, growing closer to my parents and brothers.  I've loved being a part of Westminster Presbyterian Church.  Being served by countless of brothers and sisters.  Serving in Sunday school, VBS, and worship. I've loved being a part of Westminster's youth group.  Seeing youth leaders come and go, get married and have kids.  Growing spiritually as well as relationally.  I've loved the Chattanooga co-op that I was a part of for six years.  I would be a totally different person were it not for STA.  I've loved the home school soccer team.  The piano lessons and competitions and recitals.  Most of all, I loved developing the friendships of the people here.  Being a part of hundreds of activities, frisbee games, and celebrations.  Costume parties and proms.  Camping trips and late-night woodland explorations.  Movie nights and voice recordings.  Four-square and pew beach-volleyball.  Late nights of talking and deep discussions.  The giving and receiving of gifts.  The prayers given and the prayers received.  It's been good.
   Even more, I've loved how God has used all of these things to draw me into a closer relationship with Him.  I remember a time not too long ago when I wasn't living for Him.  I wasn't obeying Him.  I didn't love Him.  However, He pulled me away from my sin and drew me into an amazing relationship with Him.  I've failed countless times, but He used those failures to strengthen my relationship with Him.  He's grown me so much!  And I know I have so far to go, but through these years He's shown me that He'll stick with me through thick and thin.  And, (hallelujah!), He'll help me stick with Him through thick and thin as well. 
   I wouldn't trade these years for anything.  But you know what?  I know it is time to move on.  Things will change.  I will change.  And it is good.  God is putting me in a new place.  I will be just where He wants me.  I know it won't be easy--high school wasn't easy!  But, looking back on His faithfulness through high school, I know that God will make these next four years exactly what they need to be. 
   Change can be hard.  It can be uncomfortable.  But never forget that everything happens for a reason.  Look to the future in anticipation, for whatever God brings at you--whatever change takes place--is the best thing for you.  God is in control and He has a plan.  Never forget that!

P.S.  Though I'm off to college, I plan on continuing to post.  I don't know if my posts will change, or if I will stick with the same direction.  Thanks you, my faithful readers, for sticking with this blog for these past two years!
Ashley Jones
8/25/2010 03:30:13 am

Praying for ya as you start this new chapter of your life!

Reply
nathan johnson
8/25/2010 07:33:30 am

Thanks Ashley!

Reply
Jennifer Snyder
9/1/2010 09:55:26 pm

You have a sweet spirit about you and the Lord will use you in a might way ever though you may not away be aware of His direction. It is my blessing to know you and your family for the past couple of years.

Reply



Leave a Reply.